Connect with us


Tinubu Renames Airports After Buhari, Idiagbon, Dan Fodio [FULL LIST)



BREAKING: Tinubu Remanes Airports After Buhari, Adiagbon, Dan Fodi [FULL LIST)

Tinubu has renamed airports after some prominent leaders in Nigeria.

News ToGo reports that Tinubu took the decision to honour these leaders who served the country in different capacities. Some are dead while others are still alive.

The list was contained in a memo on Monday, June 1, 2023. According to the memo, penned by Mrs Joke Olatunji for the Director of Airport Operations, the Maiduguri Airport will now honour the immediate past President, Muhammadu Buhari.

The Port Harcourt Airport will bear the name of the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo.

Also, the Nasarawa Airport has been christened after the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, Usman Dan Fodio.

Other people honoured include the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II, for whom the Benin Airport has been renamed. The Ebonyi Airport will carry the name of the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport will honour the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

See the full list below:

1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu

2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II

3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi

4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo

5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari

6. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola

7. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon

8. Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina

9. Maiduguri Airport – Gen. Mumammadu Buhari

10. Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka

11. Minna Airpor – Mallam Abubakar Imam

12. Nassarawa Airport – Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio

13. Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff

14. Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo

15. Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha


BREAKING: Tinubu Appoints New CBN Governor



BREAKING: Tinubu Appoints New CBN Governor

Tinubu has appointed a new CBN Governor.

News ToGo reports that President Bola Tinubu has approved the nomination of Dr. Olayemi Michael Cardoso to serve as the new Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), for a term of five (5) years at the first instance, pending his confirmation by the Nigerian Senate.

This directive is in conformity with Section 8 (1) of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007, which vests in the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the authority to appoint the Governor and Four (4) Deputy Governors for the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). This is subject to confirmation by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Furthermore, President Bola Tinubu has approved the nomination of four new Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), for a term of five (5) years at the first instance. Their appointments are are in acting capacity pending their confirmation by the Nigerian Senate. They include: (1) Mrs. Emem Nnana Usoro (2) Mr. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi Dattijo (3) Mr. Philip Ikeazor (4) Dr. Bala M. Bello.

In line with President Bola Tinubu’s Renewed Hope agenda, the President expects the above listed nominees to successfully implement critical reforms at the Central Bank of Nigeria, which will enhance the confidence of Nigerians and international partners in the restructuring of the Nigerian economy toward sustainable growth and prosperity for all. Chief Ajuri Ngelale Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity) September 15, 2023

Continue Reading


We Will Agitate For Governor, 3 Senators If Supreme Court Agrees With PEPC- Abuja Senator



We Will Agitate For Governor, 3 Senators If Supreme Court Agrees With PEPC- Abuja Senator

Senator Ireti Kingibe has given a condition for them to demand for a Governor and three senators.

News ToGo reports that the Senator representing the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), responded to the recent ruling by the Presidential Election Petition Court (PEPC) regarding the mandatory requirement of a presidential candidate to secure 25 per cent of the votes in Abuja during an election.

The Labour Party (LP) and its presidential candidate, Peter Obi, had submitted a petition to the PEPC, including the 25 per cent vote claim, against President Bola Tinubu following the 2023 general election.

Surprisingly, the PEPC ruled that the FCT did not have a special status in this regard.

In a press conference held in Abuja on Wednesday, Senator Kingibe, who was elected on the LP platform, shared her perspective on the PEPC’s dismissal of the 25 per cent vote petition.

She noted that the matter is currently before the Supreme Court, and the final verdict will determine the course of action. If the Supreme Court upholds the PEPC’s decision, then the residents of Abuja may need to advocate for the election of a governor and three senators, aligning with the status of other states.

Senator Kingibe stated, “After the matter has been disposed of at the Supreme Court and if the same position is maintained, then we will agitate for a governor, three senators, and other status of a state, but for now, let the matter remain as it is.”

Her statement implies that the issue of Abuja’s special status and the 25 per cent vote requirement will be decided in accordance with the outcome of the Supreme Court’s judgment.

Continue Reading


BREAKING: LP’s Candidate Cruises To Victory As Appeal Court Nullifies PDP’s Win



BREAKING: LP's Candidate Cruises To Victory As Appeal Court Nullifies PDP's Win

LP’s candidate has cruised to victory as Appeal Court nullified PDP’s win.

News ToGo reports that the Court of Appeal in Abuja has overturned the verdict issued on July 24 by the National and State Houses of Assembly Election Tribunal in Asaba, which had declared Ndudi Elumelu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the Aniocha/Oshimili Federal Constituency election in Delta State.

In two judgments delivered on Thursday, the Appeal Court declared Ngozi Okolie of the Labour Party (LP) as the legitimate victor of the February 25th election.

The Court of Appeal criticized the election petitions tribunal for nullifying Okolie’s election and subsequently dismissed Elumelu’s petition, which had led to the annulled judgment.

The Court of Appeal concurred with the argument presented by the Labour Party’s attorney, Mahmud Magaji (SAN), asserting that, contrary to the tribunal’s findings, Okolie had been validly nominated and sponsored by his party. Furthermore, it was established that Okolie had resigned from his position as a Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the Delta State Government in accordance with the constitutional requirements.

Continue Reading